getting hooked up….almost

france telecom came today to get me set up with phone service. i thought i was going to be able to go online today and was really looking forward to having a stable internet connection.

the good news was that the wiring had previously been done and the outlet for the phone was working so it was very simple and easy for the phone guy (and lucky for me – no extra charges for re-wiring!) to activate my phone connection.

i thought that was all that had to be done but i learned that it was only the preliminary step. the sorta bad news is that now i have to wait for free wifi, which will be my internet carrier, to send me a “box” so i can watch hundreds of tv channels (not!) and most importantly, have my internet connection at long last.

well, today wasn’t “the” day yet, so i’ll be watching my mailbox closely!!  of course my doorbell doesn’t work (another long story) so most likely the mailman will just leave me a note to tell me my package is at the post office. fortunately, it only takes me about 2 minutes to walk there.  i love living in this little town!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Irene Gerkewicza
    Nov 19, 2012 @ 09:25:31

    Did everything get hooked up yet? Hope so. But, seems like you are having a wonderful, fulfiling time over there. Cant wait to come and visit next year. OH, I dont know if i told you but I will be a grandma in May 2013. Yes, Lani’s due date is May 15 or May 18 something like that. She is feeling sicky. I dont know if you remember when I was pregnant with Lani, Kent and I went to your house-was it on Punahou? anyways, i cant remember who was there – one of your friends and I think you cooked? And you all had dinner,, but i felt so sick that i had to lay down. Do you kinda remember that? I dont even remember if I could eat or not???
    But, Lani is getting to feel better as these two weeks, she doesnt feel as sick. I know exactly how is is feeling.

    Reply

  2. thegoodlifeinfrance
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 17:29:43

    sent you an email, irene!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

