My latest visitor!

I had a short but sweet visit visit from my friend jose, who lives in l.a. We were in the same class in villefranche last year, and we’ve stayed in touch since then. He and his partner have been in barcelona so he went to visit another friend in montpellier and stopped in to see me on his way back to barcelona.

He arrived on a beautiful day, so taking advantage of the nice weather, I dragged him all over collioure ! to his credit, he was a great sport about it. We walked by the beach and even tho the weather was calm, the waves were much bigger than usual, so he got to see a pretty dramatic water show. He has a great camera and got some really good photos of collioure. My camera mysteriously disappeared and i only found it after he left. I remember putting it away, thinking it was a great spot for it, only to completely forget where that “great spot” was! Oy… He’s posted his photos onto facebook but there is no way i could figure out how to transfer some of them over to this blog. If anyone knows how to do, that let me know!

I wanted to take him, of course, to le 5eme peche, but it’s closed for (i hope) just a month, so we had to find another place. We did have a great lunch and that evening we went to the annual beaujolais festival (when the new beaujolais wine comes out). It was at cafe sola, very close to my house, so we went and tasted the new wine, listened to some music, and then found another restaurant for dinner, which jose kindly treated me to. I had offered to make some soup for dinner but he wisely declined. Who told him about my (lack of) culinary skills?!! 🙂

But the next morning i made my famous tortilla de patates (i think they’re getting better, maybe?). Couldn’t miss the opportunity to practice some more!

We then rushed to the train station so jose could get the 9:55 train to perpignan, where he would then transfer to the speed train to barcelona. We made it to the station with about 10 or 15 minutes to spare and as soon as we got there he suddenly asked me if he was supposed to take the 9:55 or the 10:55 train and we both remembered that it was the 10:55 train he was supposed to take! And i was the one who had looked at the schedule and recommended that one! But since we were already there he decided to take the early train anyway, so off he went!

It’s really fun for me to share collioure with people who come to visit, and i get to appreciate my life here even more in the process! Next!!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jose
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 21:56:16

    Lynne, it was so much fun discovering Collioure with you! And thank you for the delicious tortilla española! You ARE a great cook!!! Martha had better watch out…

    Reply

  2. thegoodlifeinfrance
    Nov 20, 2012 @ 22:05:39

    You’re very kind, monsieur! I don’t think martha has anything to worry about! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Ruth
    Nov 21, 2012 @ 00:47:22

    Je vais prêt à partir!

    Reply

  4. Jeanette Ryan
    Nov 21, 2012 @ 08:40:13

    Dear Lynnie, I’ll volunteer! Although my turn will be in May. Wow! I loved all your photos of your new home with their captions. A THREE bedroom? Really? Let’s party! I’m sooooo happy for you…le bon vivant indeed! Big kiss! Jeanette

    Reply

Leave a Reply

