I love my garden!

One of my favorite things to do, as you know, is sitting in the warmth of the sun in my garden, but today i found that even more than that, i love working in my garden – clearing out dead leaves around the plants, weeding, re-arranging the rocks etc. i filled a large garbage bag full of leaves and weeds within a couple of hours. It felt so good! There is a LOT more to be done, but i feel like even the little i did today made a nice difference.

In reflecting on my life in santa monica, i realize how disconnected i really was, especially from my environment. I was running around so much, i didn’t want to spend what little free time i had doing things like housework and cooking, so i had a cleaning woman and i mostly ate out in restaurants. I never had to do yard work because, even tho he wasn’t the nicest man, my landlord made sure that the apartment building was very well maintained, so there were always guys watering and trimming the plants and sweeping the courtyard.

Here in collioure i do all my own house cleaning and if i don’t sweep the stairs it doesn’t get done. I find that doing these mundane activities (which i avoided like the plague in santa monica) actually grounds and connects me to my surroundings in a very profound way, and i find so much pleasure in looking at the clean stairs, or the areas that i’ve cleared in the garden! The big difference that is making these changes possible is now i have the luxury of TIME. Oh how i appreciate having this very special gift!

Another “side effect” of doing these everyday activities is that i’m so much more in touch with nature, as in the wind, the sun, the rain, etc. For example, when the strong tramontaine winds start up, one of the first things i think about is the sweeping i’ll have to do because the stairs will be full of leaves. I’m very aware of the times that the sun is strongest in my garden (9:30 – 2:30 approx) and i’m always checking to see what the clouds are doing, since they can block the sun if there are too many of them hanging out in the sky. I plan my “laundry days” when the weather reports say there will be at least two days of sun, because i have a washing machine but no dryer, so i have to hang my clothes outside. In santa monica there were washers and dryers in the apt building where i lived, so i could do my laundry whether it rained or not, and i never had to think about the weather.

And working in the garden is the best because i sit on the ground with my hands in the dirt – heaven!! Who knew?!?!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ruth
    Nov 26, 2012 @ 01:53:49

    Very helpful read. Easy to forget that the simple tasks in life help ground us. Thanks, Lynne.

    Reply

  2. Jose
    Nov 26, 2012 @ 02:21:37

    Love the way you share your feelings – digging the dirt for planting, getting dirt under your nails, etc. what a great way to comun with mother earth…

    Reply

  3. thegoodlifeinfrance
    Nov 26, 2012 @ 17:42:44

    Thanks for your comments, ruth and jose! I appreciate your taking the time to respond to my posts!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

